Deputies with Utah’s Carbon County Sheriff’s Office (CCSO) were helping local animal control staff try to corral a domestic pig last week when they stumbled upon an illegal cannabis grow-op.
Sheriff Jeff Wood is reminding residents in Utah that medical marijuana is legal in the state, “patients still don’t have the right to grow their own plants,” the statement notes. As for recreational cannabis, all forms continue to be illegal.
Indeed, depending on the amount, possession of pot can lead to either a misdemeanour or felony charge in Utah.
For example, possessing an ounce (28 grams) or less of weed is punishable by as long as six months in jail and up to a US$1,940 ($2,464) fine, according to Larsen Larsen Nash & Larsen. But being found with one to 100 pounds (453 grams to 45.3 kilograms) could result in up to five
Read full article on The Growth Op